Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (30) - Books (2)

Great start to the franchise

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 9 January 2013 12:32 (A review of Dirty Harry)

One of Clint Eastwoods most iconic roles, this being the start on the franchise, arguably as famous as his western roles. The franchise that spawns so many great quotes. Its the origional Dirty Harry and Harry has to chase down some scumbag who threatens and kills innocent people including young children. The crazy scumbag gets to taste Harry's .44 magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, quite a few times, before eventually being asked if he feels lucky, I guess he did because he tries to grab his gun....obviously wasn't his lucky day afterall, punk.
My favourite moment being when Harry chops down the badguy, who's trying to escape across a football field, with a single shot from his famous .44 magnum.
This films earns a 9/10, with the entire franchise getting an 8/10 from me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Outlaw Josey Wales review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 9 January 2013 12:05 (A review of The Outlaw Josey Wales)

Theres nothing like a western starring Clint Eastwood, and this is one of the best, doesn't quite match the Dollars trilogy but its still a great film. He even directed this himself. He plays his classic ass kicking role, with anyone he doesn't like tasting a round from either; one of his pistols or his rifle. In this film in particular, its the Union soldiors who butchered his family he's aiming at, and a few bounty hunters that try to claim the price on his head, but none can match the gunslinging of Josey Wales. Josey picks up a few allies during the story, my favourite being a bad ass old Indian guy. My favourite moment has to be the gun fight at the end, Joey Wales on horseback and a fortified hut full of people pissed off with the Union, against a squad of Union soldiors...


0 comments, Reply to this entry

True Grit review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 8 January 2013 10:41 (A review of True Grit)

A really good modern western, again with convincing performances and full of excellent scenes. An obviously well written movie with a great storyline. Not sure whats going on with that crazy guy in Ned's crew haha. The scene when the guy chops off his friends fingers and then gets shot straight in the face is the standout moment in the film for me! Either that or the gun fight near the end, following "I call that bold talk for a one eyed fat man!"


0 comments, Reply to this entry

3:10 to Yuma review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 8 January 2013 10:40 (A review of 3:10 to Yuma)

Wasn't expecting much from this modern western since I like so many of the old ones, but I still wanted to give it a chance. So glad I did! It was a really good film, great storyline, with quality actors who all gave a really convincing performance, even found myself starting to feel sorry for Christian Bale's character and then really respecting Russell Crowe's at the end. Great modern western with a few decent gunslinging scenes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

American Psycho 2 review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 8 January 2013 10:40 (A review of American Psycho 2)

I really enjoyed the first American Psycho and so I had to watch this but this one was a bit of a let down to be honest. Not as much of an exciting story like the last, a lot less humour(if any) and lacks the massive twist at the end the first had. Good performance by Mila Kunis, got to admit I couldn't stop thinking of Meg Griffin every time she spoke though, not exactly her fault, my fault for watching too much Family Guy.
Wasn't a great movie, can't say what my favourite moment was without a rewatch, but not sure when I want to do that.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 8 January 2013 10:38 (A review of Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol)

It was actually as good as the others if not better, packed full of action and a decent storyline, as well as great casting made it definitely a film I could rewatch later. Also the comic relief provided by Simon Pegg's character was actually pretty funny at times, which is good so we didn't have to rely on Tom Cruise's cheesy lines.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Unknown review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 8 January 2013 10:37 (A review of Unknown)

Was a very good film, although afterwards I couldn't help but think of the Bourne movies, just because of the storyline of amnesia and him turning out to be a trained assassin. Liam Neeson plays the character perfectly (of course) and still looks good kicking some bad guys ass! Starting to become a fan of Diane Kruger, now too, she plays her role perfectly. Can't complain about January Jones either. Its a thriller of a movie packed full of action and mystery that had me really wanting to know what happens!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

American Psycho review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 2 January 2013 01:57 (A review of American Psycho)

it was a good film just a bit of a mind screw over. The acting is really good, I guess since the character is crazy as shit, its just another amazing performance by Christian Bale. Probably not for those who do not enjoy gory scenes, however a must see for those who would enjoy a dark humoured thriller!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dark Knight Rises review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 1 January 2013 01:15 (A review of The Dark Knight Rises)

It really is an amazing spectacle, so well put together, acted, everything. Not sure who steals the show for me, its a tough call between Bane and Catwoman. Such a good film, a great way to finish the trilogy, which I would recommend to anyone, (who somehow!), hasn't seen it! Packed full of action with a quality storyline!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, Book 3) review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 25 December 2012 07:29 (A review of Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, Book 3))

Not too sure about this book, I feel as though the author just sort of gave up thinking of actual good ideas and just let things fall into place as the story was approaching the end :/. The two main things that frustrated me about this book were; Finnick's death, was so lame and barely even mentioned, and then the entire last chapter, the whole story just seems to be forgotten and it just focuses on Katniss with Peeta, no explanation to how the world is doing under new rule etc.... Overall I'd say this book was a let down for the trilogy, however still pretty decent.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block